Philosophical Muse : Travel Muse Part 1 – Entering The Unknown, Wheel In Hand

Standard

And so I’ve just spent the weekend in another country and have returned back to my homeland.

I entered via land, in my own vehicle this time, behind the wheel of my car. Normally for the many season travellers out there, they would deem my news as mere ramblings of a kid.

But somehow this trip was a little life changing. It was something personal, almost spiritual. It probably also had to do with the fact that my car to me is more than just a vehicle or a metallic box with wheels.

I love my car. It is an integral part of my life. I gave it a name, defended it against the criticisms from my dad, ocassionally kiss it good night and talk to it. I’ve spent much of my earnings maintaining it as best I could. Call me deranged perhaps, but it’s that feeling you get when you go to a petstore and choose a dog that you really love. You didn’t choose a mutt or an animal. You chose a best friend. Something you can pour your heart out to.

My car has served me well and even protected me from an accident where I went sideways at 90 km/h and slammed into the curb.

My car is something personal, a piece of me, an extension of my self. Like a limb that grows from me. It and I form a symbiotic relationship when we traverse the plane of roads and passing vehicles.

It was with this type of relationship, that driving into a foreign country aboard my own car gave me a new feeling.

It isn’t so much the thrill of adventure (which I did have quite a lot of), as it was entering the unknown with a best friend. I’ve entered this new land via plane and bus in the past.
But when you’re in a personalised moving space, a companion container, there grows a special bond towards the land upon which you and your car connects to. It gets into your system, this profound feeling of discovery and growing courage as one by one, the uncertainties that you had before entering start to dissipate as you familiarise yourself with the lay of the land.

And having a partner with you, one that you care so much, a companion who you are close with, having spent so much time together; that creates a beautiful atmosphere in the journey of exploration.

I think at the end of the day, wherever the journey of discovery to new lands may be, having a companion changes the feel. It gets personal, connected.

Perhaps my story is just the plain story of a man and his car, or more like the inner boy and his best friend.
But that could perhaps also explain why real drivers, and I repeat, real drivers or motorheads, develop this sort of love and relationship towards their machine.

It isn’t about the thrill of the drive, nor is it about the power under the hood. It’s more than that.
It’s the experience and feeling you get when sitting behind that wheel. It makes you feel different.

When you’re in a foreign land, in the unknown, traversing with a close mate that holds a special place in your heart, it reignites that spark of curiosity and wonder once again. That excitement. That little excited child within comes out, as though entering a theme park for the first time.

And you’re entering with your best friend by your side.

Leave a Reply

